Never Mind the Buzzcocks… pop quiz time…

Most links contain sound and are to YouTube: Not safe for work…

So Phil Burgess is doing the lights for The Buzzcock’s tonight. Hell, I wish I was going! I don’t very often whitter on about my favourite music on here,  figuring those who know me know that I used to love DJ’ing, and playing endless tracks, and those who don’t won’t care much! I have been incredibly busy recently with a number of projects, and have not been keeping this blog up – though I have recently written a great deal over on my other blog POLTERWOTSIT, and posted a number of articles as well as hosting a couple by other people. If you are primarily interested in my psychical research shenanigans that is the blog you should subscribe to, though I am thinking of writing an article on the faggot theory ( an aspect of theory of apparitions proposed by GNM Tyrell, not anything offensive!) in collaboration with Becky at some point. Anyway some mindless self indulgence today, I’m tired of the heavy stuff I have been working on!

So music: I guess my tastes in music fall in to four main areas; late 60’s psychedelia, Punk/New Wave/New Romantic, Goth, and Abba, who were after all proto-goths who I explained in an earlier post on this blog.  I guess a lot of that comes down to my age, and the fact I’m a white chap living in England. If I had lived in a different part of the world, or been 5 years younger, my musical tastes would doubtless have been VERY different.

Still, while most people know my favourite song is Ziggy Stardust by Bowie (or the Bauhaus cover) and many of you have gathered I love Jefferson Airplane, the Sisters of Mercy, Abba and the BeeGees, with bands like The Cure, New Model Army, and Duran Duran being other great faves, I hope my musical taste, or lack thereof will continue to appal my friends for years to come!

The thing I love most however I think is lyrics. So here is a pop quiz – can you identify the lyrics? Keep a score out of fifteen and do let me know how you get on – my music taste is fairly eclectic, but you should get a couple at least! All lyrics are (c) the original authors or copyright holders…

The lyrics quiz

Number 1 -I think a lot of my friends will wonder why I have not mentioned this band already – cos I saved it here for here, that is why!

Shiny, shiny, shiny boots of leather
Whiplash girlchild in the dark
Severin, your servant comes in bells, please don’t forsake him
Strike, dear mistress, and cure his heart

(Answer)

Number 2 –  The most romantic song (with a capital “R”) ever written

And in the darkened underpass
I thought” Oh God, my chance has come at last”
But then a strange fear gripped me
And I just couldn’t ask

(Answer)

Number 3 – for Alice, my grandmother… Hugh will know what it is from that…

How can it be that we can
Say so much without words?
Bless you and bless me

(Answer)

Number 4

Do you cry out in your sleep
All my failings exposed
There’s a taste in my mouth
As desperation takes hold

(Answer)

Number 5

“Got no reason for coming to me and the rain running down.
There’s no reason.
When I look on in your eyes then I find that I’ll do fine.
When I look on in your eyes then I’ll do better.”

(Answer)

Number 6

“Now the light fades out
And I’m wondering what I’m doing in a room like this
There’s a knock on the door
And just for a second I thought I remembered you”

(Answer)

Number 7 – I have been here!

“She told me she worked in the morning and started to laugh,
I told her I didn’t and crawled off to sleep in the bath”

(Answer)

Number 8

“Arrive, climb up four flights
To the orange side
Rearrange my mind
In turquoise”

(Answer)

Number 9 – one of my favourite tracks ever, but maybe not one you would expect.

Lookin’ back on how it was
In years gone by
And the good times that I had
Makes today seem rather sad
So much has changed

(Answer)

Number 10 – very hard!

Here’s to the king of the 1990s…
Give me everything…give me everything!

(Answer)

Number 11 “don’t need a shrink but an exorcist?”

I’m living in the weirdest dream
Where nothing is the way it seems
Where no one’s who they need to be
Where nothing seems that real to me

(Answer)

Number 12
I remember all my life
Rainin’ down as cold as ice
Shadows of a man
A face through a window

(Answer)

Number 13- one of my parties led to me quoting this, as it happened in a very literal sense…

There’s nazis in the bathroom just below the stairs.

Answer)

Number 14

Committed for insanity and crimes against the soul
The worst crime that I ever did was play some rock ‘n roll.

(Answer)

Number 15

I saw him dancin’ there by the record machine
I knew he must a been about seventeen
The beat was goin’ strong
Playin’ my favorite song

(Answer)

There ay go. I doubt anyone will get many though!Now to go do some work…

cj x

About Chris Jensen Romer

I am a profoundly dull, tedious and irritable individual. I have no friends apart from two equally ill mannered cats, and a lunatic kitten. I am a ghosthunter by profession, and professional cat herder. I write stuff and do TV things and play games. It's better than being real I find.
This entry was posted in Uninteresting to others whitterings about my life and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Never Mind the Buzzcocks… pop quiz time…

  1. Axel says:

    They’re not that difficult CJ.
    I knew 14 of them.

  2. Benvenuto says:

    I got about 10 I think. Not including Union City Blue, as despite loving the song, I had never been able to make out that section of lyric. I am now enlightened!

Leave a Reply

