A foxy ghost?

I was just reading something on a forum which made me recall an odd experience I had years ago, back in the late 1990’s…

I had been addressing a public meeting on the subject of ghosts at a pub near Corby, Northamptonshire. Myself and my ex-girlfriend Polly retired to bed, and as we turned the light off a baby started to cry. I say a baby, but we both repeatedly heard the word “mama!” A small child. “Foxes” I said.”Wish they would shut up” (—- or something like that anyway!) It sounded loud enough that it was in the room with us.

After ten minutes of chatting we returned to the subject “it keeps calling for it’s mama!” :) At that point Polly got up to shoo the foxes away or hurl a shoe out of the window at them or something. No foxes could be seen, and the noise was clearly in the building, not outside the window. OK, so we now thought our hosts child was upset. So I wondered through to check on Louis – he was fast asleep – and realised the “voice” was coming from the bedroom we were in. As I walked in I turned the light on for the first time – and the noise stopped, instantly, as if it had been switched off – it did not fade out, it did not slow – it just cut out.

So we assumed now out hosts who were old friends were hoaxing us for a laugh, using some kind of light sensitive tape recorder.  We did a quick search, found nothing, shrugged and went to bed (Turning a light on would hardly bother the hypothetical foxes given the number of lights outside.) Our hosts were still downstairs talking to the lock in, and there was no TV in the rooms nearby – maybe someone in the car park had switched off a radio play? Anyway we soon got bored, turned the light off and went back to bed. About an hour had passed since we first went up, and then it started again. This time we listened for five minutes and Polly got up and turned on the room light – and as before, the sound stopped immediately.

We listened for five minutes, and hearing our hosts come upstairs thought of asking them what it was, but they started making snogging and bumping noises so we abandoned that idea, and turned off the light. Within twenty minutes the voice, about the level of an insistent and annoyed baby in the room with you, or a TV being watched by a deaf elderly relative, or perhaps me at a nightclub – ie. quite loud – came back. Being the ace ghosthunter I am I had a dictaphone on me for recording witness statements – but it was in a suitcase, and I still felt it was just unreasonable that the foxes of Corby could talk – mama! mama! wail….wail! We both eventually put the light on, it stopped, and we just went to sleep. I did not bother to record the noise, because to be honest I just did not think it was a ghost, I thought it was a trick being played on me, or ventriloquist fox.

I’d like to say there was some kind of legend or explanation, but the hosts knew of none, and given I had just talked on ghosts if the ancient pub actually had a ghost story I think one of the locals would have told me. Polly is a complete sceptic – but in the morning she suggested what we heard might have been a ghost, with an embarrassed smile. I was less convinced — if it was it raises more questions than it answers. Why are spooks photosensitive? Why did it cut out the moment the light was turned on?

The only thing I am certain about it was it was not a hallucination – we both were hearing it, loud and clear, and it was annoying. Our hosts had no idea what it was, and I still have no idea today, but it was annoying at the time!

cj x

About Chris Jensen Romer

I am a profoundly dull, tedious and irritable individual. I have no friends apart from two equally ill mannered cats, and a lunatic kitten. I am a ghosthunter by profession, and professional cat herder. I write stuff and do TV things and play games. It's better than being real I find.
This entry was posted in Paranormal and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to A foxy ghost?

  1. angelo says:

    Mass hallucination? The lot of you had just listened to a spooky ghost story which opened your minds to such phenomena. The same thing happens to UFO enthusiasts who go outside of the city to see if they can spot a spaceship. Out of say, 10 people, at least three will see something in the night sky they think is abnormal.

Leave a Reply

