A question for readers of my blog – do reply!

Here is the question –

“Have you ever, when believing yourself to be completely awake, had a vivid impression of seeing or being touched by a living being or inanimate object, or of hearing a voice; which impression, so far as you could discover, was not due to any external physical cause?”

look forward to any replies! Feel free to email me if you don’;t want to comment publicly. If you do comment publicly I hope you won’t mind if I render anonymous your response and use it in a little study I’m doing? 🙂 If you do object do say so, or refrain from commenting… It would help if you could tell me your nationality, gener and age (approximate age is fine if sensitive.)

cj x

About Chris Jensen Romer

I am a profoundly dull, tedious and irritable individual. I have no friends apart from two equally ill mannered cats, and a lunatic kitten. I am a ghosthunter by profession, and professional cat herder. I write stuff and do TV things and play games. It's better than being real I find.
This entry was posted in Unclassifiable!. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to A question for readers of my blog – do reply!

  1. Wendy C says:

    So…I assume you want to hear something more than “Yes” to this question…? 😉

  2. Chris Jensen Romer says:

    🙂 If you want to contribute an experience feel free to email me on chrisjensenromer@hotmail.com ! Actually, I was mainly curious as to how many people said “I have no idea what you are on about CJ!” I do love Sidgwick’s wording, but as DJ west said as long ago as 1948 it does need updating. Shame really! :)I was not convinced by Watt and Wiseman’s rewording for their latests census, and said so at conference – it asked about “ghosts”, severely limiting the responses i would have thought and possibly rendering comparison with the CoH and West’s two main studies impossible… Still I’m playing with the question, we will see what I can come up with!

  3. Mo says:

    Nope. Although I love the wording of the question, it conjures up the image of enthusiastic 19th-century types with side-whiskers.

  4. Balders says:

    Actually yes. I have, and still do experience something which fits the question. Now and again it feels exactly like someone has grabbed, fairly aggressively, my right shoulder, as if I was about to be forcely swung around for a confrontation. It happens once or twice a year and gets me every time.

    I believe it to be a nerve spasm in my shoulder but I could be wrong.

  5. Joel Monka says:

    Yes, I have, on more than one occasion. There were no obvious external explanations if these experiences were real, and no obvious reasons to believe they weren’t. Extensive psychological testing (for a sensitive job) did not show me to be unusually susceptable to influence or hysteria, and physical examinations (for unrelated complaints, cured by surgery) revealed no neurological conditions or chemical imbalances.

    I’m male, 54, a US citizen, from Indianapolis, Indiana. (Definitely NOT the woo-woo center of the country!)

Leave a comment

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.