Thank you for the music – and Abba as Goths

I think everyone knows I’m a huge Abba fan.

Yeah, I know… I’m not gay. So?

Anyway listened to the live concert from Hyde Park, and while it was Abba-lite enjoyed most of it.  I like ethnic music – Roxette, Aha, Aqua, Junior Senior, Alphabeat, etc are pretty cool. Yes, I’m still proud of my Scandinavian heritage!  (OK maybe not all of those are top my taste really, though Roxette had their moments!) Still I am ultimately an Abba fan. They are so incredibly depressing though! Well maybe it’s just gothic brooding melancholy…

For the record my favourite Abba songs are Fernando and The Name of the Game: bioth pretty happy ones!

I reccomend Carl Magnus Palm’s excellent Dark Shadows Bright Lights if you want a biography.

In the meantime here is a little quiz, with absolutely no challenge to the owners of the lyrics – please don’t sue me – but can you name the Abba songs?

number1
Autumn winds
Blowing outside the window as I look around the room
And it makes me so depressed to see the room
number2
I’ve been cheated by you since I don’t know when
So I made up my mind, it must come to an end
number3
Where are those happy days, they seem so hard to find
I tried to reach for you, but you have closed your mind
Whatever happened to our love?
I wish I understood
It used to be so nice, it used to be so good
number4
The Gods may throw a dice
Their minds as cold as ice
And someone way down here
Loses someone dear
number5
No more carefree laughter
Silence ever after
Walking through an empty house, tears in my eyes
Here is where the story ends, this is goodbye
number6
I was sick and tired of everything
When I called you last night from Glasgow
All I do is eat and sleep and sing
Wishin’ every show was the last show
number7
I have no friends, no-one to see
And I am never invited
number8
I work all night, I work all day, to pay the bills I have to pay
Ain’t it sad
And still there never seems to be a single penny left for me
number9
So the walls came tumbling down
And your love’s a blown out candle
All is gone and it seems too hard to handle
number10
You were here and now you’re gone
Hey did I do something wrong?
I just can’t believe that I could be so badly mistaken
Was it me or was it you?
Tell me, are we really through?
Won’t you hear me cry and you will know that my heart is breaking

Still think Abba‘s music  was  happy and chirpy?

cj x

About Chris Jensen Romer

I am a profoundly dull, tedious and irritable individual. I have no friends apart from two equally ill mannered cats, and a lunatic kitten. I am a ghosthunter by profession, and professional cat herder. I write stuff and do TV things and play games. It's better than being real I find.
This entry was posted in Reviews and Past Events, Social commentary desecrated, Uninteresting to others whitterings about my life and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thank you for the music – and Abba as Goths

  1. Mo says:

    A nice post to come back from holiday to! I am also a bit of an Abba fan, so I’ll have a guess:

    1 Gimme Gimme Gimme (A Man after Midnight)
    2 Mamma Mia
    3 S.O.S.
    4 The Winner Takes it All
    5 Knowing Me, Knowing You
    6 Super Trouper (Glasgow / last show is surely one of the greatest rhymes in the history of pop)
    7 The Name of the Game
    8 Money Money Money
    9 Ooh, don’t recognize this one!
    10 Ring Ring (eventually got it…)

    good mix of easy and tricky!

Leave a Reply

