My birthday cake

I sometimes  think my family don’t take my interest in parapsychology too seriously… 🙂

My birthday cake

My birthday cake

It was delicious though!

cj x

About Chris Jensen Romer

I am a profoundly dull, tedious and irritable individual. I have no friends apart from two equally ill mannered cats, and a lunatic kitten. I am a ghosthunter by profession, and professional cat herder. I write stuff and do TV things and play games. It's better than being real I find.
This entry was posted in Dreadful attempts at humour, Paranormal, Uninteresting to others whitterings about my life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to My birthday cake

  1. Wendy C says:

    So how was the rest of the SPR conference? I had to rush off on Friday to catch a plane and missed a lot- I really wanted to meet Trevor Hamilton and talk history. Robertson & Roy were in fine form though! 🙂

  2. Tom Ruffles says:

    Wendy, you missed some excellent sessions on Saturday and Sunday. Trevor Hamilton was on fine form, and spoke for an hour. The high spot of the night though was Melvyn Willin in troubadour outfit serenading the company. The big surprise of the weekend for me was how many timeslips they seem to have in Liverpool. As it was my father’s birthplace I’m rather proud. The conference had a high proportion of first-timers, which bodes well for the future of the SPR, and quite a few from overseas.

  3. Chris Jensen Romer says:

    I was going to post a review of the Saturday afternoon session which I attended and enjoyed, but having noted this “Members of the SPR may not issue public notices or advertisements about purported SPR meetings or events either on behalf of the Society itself or in conjunction with other organisations (ref. Paranormal Review 23, July 2002), unless authorised to do so by the Council.” on the website under membership guidelines, and having applied to rejoin, I won’t be for obvious reasons. I’ve also removed my notice of the forthcoming Study Day as I don’t want to be in contravention of the guidelines.

    cj x

  4. Tom Ruffles says:

    Chris, I suspect you haven’t looked at the issue of the Paranormal Review itself (it can be viewed in the SPR’s online library). The guideline in question refers to a short item by John Poynton (p.5), written after a member made arrangements to hold a joint meeting with another organisation without consulting the SPR Council and apparently caused some embarrassment thereby. The resolution actually states:

    “If it is proposed that the Society should take part in an event jointly with another organisation, all notices or advertisements shall be submitted to the Council, the President or the Hon. Secretary for approval.”

    Clearly there was never any intention of restricting individuals from reproducing our diary dates or writing about our events. The issue was about members purporting to speak on behalf of the Society without approval, and as Professor Poynton points out, that can be a sensitive issue given the SPR’s broad constituency. I shall take this up with the powers that be and see if we can get the guideline altered, as it is clearly incorrect. In the meantime, please write your review and I’m sure nobody will object if you advertise the next study day; in fact you should be thanked for doing the SPR this service.
    Tom

  5. Chris Jensen Romer says:

    Hi Tom,

    Yes I’d seen John Poynton’s piece – I looked it up after becoming distressed my announcing lectures and study days here and to individuals i thought might be interested might constitute a breach of my membership agreement — https://jerome23.wordpress.com/2009/09/09/spr-study-day-58-halloween-london-poltergeists-then-and-now/ – is where i commented last night. I appreciate that it might not be the intention of the note in the membership agreement, but given my reputation after the Derek and Harry affair is about as low as the Titanic, I figured I’d best be careful. If i am being overcautious i would love to continue to comment and promote events as i always have, but until I can be certain I really don;’t want to risk it while still living in Cheltenham! I still think a lot of people associate me with Derek and Harry rather more than I would like… though you may recall I was never their greatest fan, even if my warnings fell on (beyond you) largely deaf ears. 😦

    cj x

Leave a Reply

