10,000 hits, six months – a celebration!

OK, I created this blog over a year ago, but never actually posted on it till the end of February of this year, and yesterday I crossed the ten thousand posts mark! I’m really quite pleased, and wondered who read it. Well it seems very few people come to see what I am up to – a handful of friends regularly read and comment – but a few of my little essays do seem popular. The articles on Science and Religion, the Historical Jesus, and my mini-review of Heroquest the roleplaying game are all immensely popular, but actually one of the most read articles is my essay on Futurism, the Italian Art movement, that has been on my website for well over a decade. That does surprise me, though given this year marks the centenary of Marinetti’s Futurist Manifesto maybe it shouldn’t!

Life has been full of ups and downs recently, a lot good, a lot bad. I won’t go in to detail, but I’m doing ok I guess, and I’d write more but I have a lot to try and get done today, indeed this week, and this weekend sees my fortieth birthday celebration.

So how does it feel to be almost forty? Perhaps surprisingly I don’t really feel that much different to how I did at 23. My interests are much the same, my lifestyle has not changed that drastically, and I still spend far too much time reading, writing, and thinking, and far too little time doing productive paid work I guess. I’m actually quite happy at the moment – being ancient mellows one, and you growe used to the crises, the lack of money, the tiredness and the chaos. Sure I still get depressed from time to time (in a clinical sense as well) but I work through it, by throwing myself in to doing stuff.

One thing I have noticed is that I’m FAR less self destructive than I was at 23. Back then, following the death of my beloved grandmother Alice I was a rather sedate and conservative with a small ‘c’ wild child – I was risk taking, and constantly putting myself in what I now would regard as highly foolhardy and dangerous situations. Nowadays, I’m very careful, very ‘safe’ and remarkably adverse to serious risk. Maybe that happens to us all? Also, in my youth I was prone to living in the past, staying at the university long after any sane person would have walked away. Now i’m looking to the future, trying to find new challenges, and looking forward to what is to come. How odd – should it not be the other way round?

Anyway today I find it hard to focus, hard to write.  So i’ll just once again thank everybody who reads my blog, no matter how irregularly, and end with my favourite search terms of the last few weeks, as always —

object displacement with haunting  – well I can see that, and yes I talk about it here!
i+was+fat    – yep, I was. Still am sadly!
atheists have no compassion – er, no, many atheists are very compassionate. This person will be disappointed!
pigs with farmgirls – er, the mind boggles.
vandalizing bicycles oxford — did they want a how to guide?
“if it rains” -???
mustard seeds experiment – loads of people google this it seems, so maybe my little article has given rrise to a few experiments. No one has ever commented though!

Anyway I’ll go wash up. Thanks for reading all!

cj x

About Chris Jensen Romer

I am a profoundly dull, tedious and irritable individual. I have no friends apart from two equally ill mannered cats, and a lunatic kitten. I am a ghosthunter by profession, and professional cat herder. I write stuff and do TV things and play games. It's better than being real I find.
This entry was posted in Uninteresting to others whitterings about my life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 10,000 hits, six months – a celebration!

  1. Wendy C says:

    *****HAPPY BIRTHDAY******
    Have a great one 🙂

  2. Bekah says:

    Really enjoyed reading this blog CJ :o) You are so open and honest about things that have happened to you, it’s encouraging though that you don’t give up, you keep plodding on! And despite the struggles, you are still there for others and help them, its something I admire about you. Through the struggles and the pain, God is still there providing for us, and guiding us every step of the way! Keep going, CJ! Bekah x

  3. Baldeo Hurkoo says:

    “one of the most read articles is my essay on Futurism, the Italian Art movement”

    Perhaps they liked the pictures?

Leave a Reply

