A strange reversal of fortune

OK, there is many a slip between cup and lip and other cliches, but hey, things are looking decidedly up. Yesterday I was thoroughly depressed — today I feel cautiously optimistic. Firstly, and importantly, thank you to everyone who responded yesterday, and especially to Wendy for her wonderful description of life at Liverpool Hope!  It made me laugh out loud, and to be honest I wasn’t doing a lot of laughing last night.

The score: I have found a Director of Studies, am confident I can find a second supervisor, and he has identified a source of funding which would allow me to start in September 2010. If I somehow come in to three and a half grand in the next few months, then I will start even sooner if I can. It’s all a bit tentative at the moment, as we have only just exchanged a few emails – I know the excellent chap in question, and I approached him and was amazed to get an immediate positive response. Am I really a good PhD candidate? Well we shall see.

Of course I will have to support myself somehow, but let’s face it, I have been doing that for years, and I know that I can get through it given the chance. If I can return to academia, then I may finally end my rather long hiatus, and get back to doing what I love most, and hopefully earn enough eventually to actually have some sort of life in my twilight years (meaning after I’m forty, that is from August…)

All kinds of things can go wrong – they have before – and from grim experience I always say never count on any money till it’s in your bank account, or in thsi case in the university coffers, but this sounds practical, sane and intriguing as a possibility. I am confident enough to renew my SPR sub this year for my birthday – assuming I can get the Student rate by negotiation – and start reading around the proposed study area. Strangely, not everyone seems overjoyed — well one person has expressed concerns about three more years of poverty ahead of me – but hell, I am abslutely delighted! So now I will touch wood, bite the foot off an unlucky rabbit, run backwards and forth in front of Cuddles my black cat and smack mtyself over the head with a horseshoe.  Maybe at last I can move on, and get back to some kind of real life? Who knows — but I’m a lot happier anyway!

cj x

About Chris Jensen Romer

I am a profoundly dull, tedious and irritable individual. I have no friends apart from two equally ill mannered cats, and a lunatic kitten. I am a ghosthunter by profession, and professional cat herder. I write stuff and do TV things and play games. It's better than being real I find.
This entry was posted in Uninteresting to others whitterings about my life and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

