A quick update…

I guess a few of my personal friends are probably  wondering why recently I have been so slack in answering email – well I have a lot on. I’m doing a little research   which is hard work but I can’t talk about that here and ditto my writing on various roleplaying game projects.  Still I have so much on I have been working pretty much flat out, which is good news I guess.  I also had the pleasure of chatting yesterday with a US researcher, and will probably be doing a tiny piece to camera this week for a ghost hunting show – I’m no stranger to this as many of you know – but again can’t say more on that at present!

I am on Facebook now, and make occasional forays on to it to annoy my friends with silly comments on their status updates and to play silly online games. It’s worth trying to get me there, or on Skype – I rarely use MSN. If you need ot get through to me emailing me on chrisjensenromer@hotmail.com is still one of the best ways.

So what am I curently interested in that I can talk about?  Well I’m getting quite interested in developmental psychology, and Attachment Theory (John Bowlby). I recently have read quite a bit on this – I have the Handbook of Attachment Theory on my desk, a huge four hundred page work on the area, and I’m also still reading a lot of Scott Atran and EvoPsych. While the formal reason for this is my ongoing interest in Psychology of Religion, I’m also increasingly frustrated by the lack of a theoretical framework to explore Exceptional Human Experiences and the whole paranormal experience thing, so I’m trying to familiarize myself as much as possible with the current research in these potentially related areas. Reading Lakatos is becoming quite influential in the critique I’m developing of modern parapsychology.  Already I have made one incredible counter-intuitive discovery while reading up on modular mind theories, and in particular Jerry Fodor’s stuff – if my understanding is correct this undermines a lot of the sceptical theories about how people perceive ghosts. I’ll be writing on that in depth as soon as I have more time, and  my critique of Daniel Dennett’s theories on psychology of belief will also follow at some point, not that many of my friends will want to read them!

On the roleplaying games front, I’m only involved in two games at the moment, running an Ars Magica saga set in Thebes at Andy’s on a Monday, and Unknown Armies with Lorna, Ben and Helen on a Wednesday.  Still I’m so busy I just don’t have time to do much more. 😦

Hope this find everyone well, and my usual drivelous essays will soon resume I’m sure! And if you have emailed me, I promise to try and reply soon.

cj x

About Chris Jensen Romer

I am a profoundly dull, tedious and irritable individual. I have no friends apart from two equally ill mannered cats, and a lunatic kitten. I am a ghosthunter by profession, and professional cat herder. I write stuff and do TV things and play games. It's better than being real I find.
This entry was posted in Uninteresting to others whitterings about my life and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to A quick update…

  1. heyzeus7 says:

    Hi Jerome,

    Yeah, if you’ll remember I sent you an email quite a while back asking for your personal take on the paranormal evidence…I’d actually be intensely interested in reading anything you produce. If you could take a minute to answer that email, however, briefly, I’d be grateful.

    JD

    jdhyperspace@yahoo.com

    • Chris says:

      OK jd, hopefully my reply has get through. If not do tell me and I will try again! Sorry for the delay – work got in the way!

      cj x

  2. Chris says:

    Hi JD, yep sorry I am intending to reply – I’m just a bit overwhelmed by the scope of the question! 🙂

    cj x

Leave a Reply

