The Problem with PhD Parapsychology Bursaries

… is that they always seem to require a first degree in psychology. In some cases even having a postgrad degree in Psych is not enough – candidates must have a first degree in Psychology.  I can sort of understand why, but given that parapsychology really crosses disciplinary boundaries all over the place, why the hell is this needed? Another great bursary (in Sweden this time) I can’t even apply for. It does not matter how much you may be up to date on experimental design, SPSS and other stats packages, and Social Science Research Methodology – coming from a different discipline excludes you.

This is very, very sad, and makes little sense. Where would JB Rhine be today? Not funded! (He was a biologist.) About three quarters of the past SPR Presidents would not apply, and not just the early ones, and of the people I know teaching parapsychology in UK programmes or supervising candidates today, about 20-30% would probably be excluded by these criteria.

Still, I’ll keep raising the issue on the mailing lists etc, but it is all rather depressing…

cj x

About Chris Jensen Romer

I am a profoundly dull, tedious and irritable individual. I have no friends apart from two equally ill mannered cats, and a lunatic kitten. I am a ghosthunter by profession, and professional cat herder. I write stuff and do TV things and play games. It's better than being real I find.
This entry was posted in Paranormal, Science, Uninteresting to others whitterings about my life and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Problem with PhD Parapsychology Bursaries

  1. Annalisa says:

    I feel your pain. I had the EXACT same problem at Lund. As a whole, it seems that the North American Universities are far more flexible than the European ones when it comes to your undergraduate degree, but the good programs can’t be found in North America any more.

  2. Chris says:

    HI Annalisa – yep, it’s a real problem. There are a number of good MSc problems in the UK, but PhD opportunities are still pretty limited, and as I say are often limited by requiring a first degree in psychology. However if you you have some psychology, do read the Lund guidelines – Wendy Cousins kindly checked with Etzel Cardena and this year that will suffice! The guidelines are actually pretty generous – I would qualify, as would anyone with some postgrad psych I think. This is a massive improvement over last year.
    🙂

    Good luck and do drop me a line and tell me about your research interests…

    cj x

  3. joulail says:

    i m agree with cris
    have a nice day
    thx

Leave a Reply

